Day 128: Start Sayin’ Yer Goodbyes

Stehekin – North Fork Campsite
Mileage: 8

Sleeping in is so nice. This town is so quiet, even with summer tourists all over the place. I meander down to the deck overlooking the lake to find Sochi getting ready to catch the 8am bus back to the trail. He’s meeting Cassie at the monument a day and a half before Goat, Happy Pants and I plan on finishing, so this is really goodbye.

“Love ya, mean it.” He said as he gave me a big hug. He, Dirtmonger and Bearclaw all hopped on the bus and I stood at the railing and waves them off. It’s really happening. We are going to Canada.

Goat, Happy Pants and I have breakfast and sit by the lake until the 11am shuttle comes to take us to the bakery. Again. I spend too much money, eat too many sweets and nap in the grass. It feels glorious, but I also feel sluggish. It’s nice that there isn’t even the possibility to communicate with the outside world on this, the last town stop. No cell service, no wifi. Which means blog updates get backed up and I still have no clue how I’m getting from Bellingham to Seattle, but it also means that napping in the grass and eating delicious baked goods are the only things on my to do list.

When the next bus comes, we begrudgingly leave the bakery to get back to the trail. But it’s alright, we are only doing a few miles.

At camp we plan the next few days. 3 full days of hiking. That’s it. I’m not sure I believe it. But it’s true, it’s ending. I’d like to say I’m ready, and for the most part I think I am. I’ll be glad to not have to sleep in socks anymore, and to have all the drinking water I want without having to treat it. But that also means I have to do things like pay utility bills and put gas in my car…

Leave a comment