Day 129: Rainy Pass Is, In Fact, Rainy

North Fork Campsite – below Metchow Pass
Mileage: 23

I woke up with a sore throat this morning. I was hoping it was just because it got pretty cold last night, but it persisted through the morning as I hiked along the ridges. I tried not to think about it. 3 days to Canada, nothing is stopping me now.

I got to Rainy Pass and saw Happy Pants sitting with a guy by a red pick up truck. Trail magic! The guys name was Troll, he hiked with his son a couple years back. He gave me a Gatorade and some chips and we chatted for a bit. It was a great pick me up, especially because it was cloudy and cold.

The second half of the day took me up above tree line along some more ridges. There were a bunch of section hikers – all of them kept congratulating me and giving me high fives. I felt like a rock star.

I met the guys at the top of the last pass and we hiked down to find a campsite. It’s so early! This is wonderful. We pitched our tents and built a fire in the fire ring, with just enough time to make dinner and hang out before the rain forced us into our tents. I made my last peppermint tea in hopes that it would make my throat feel better and it seems to have helped! Immune system don’t fail me now!

IMG_1801.JPG

IMG_1803.JPG

IMG_1804.JPG

Leave a comment